Jacques named GLHC MVP

CALUMET – The day after his four-goal performance clinched a share of the conference title for the Copper Kings, senior forward Brendan Jacques of Calumet was named Great Lakes Hockey Conference Player of the Year today.

The first team was all seniors, including Jacques and James Sturos (defense) of the Copper Kings, Forest Folker (defense) and Evan Kyle (goaltender) of Marquette and forwards Ted Pietila (Kingsford) and Jake Eastin (Escanaba).

The six second teamers were all from either Calumet or Escanaba: senior forward Lucas Lahnala and junior goaltender Troy Pierce of the Kings and Escanaba forwards Levi Wunder and Nick Vandermissen, and defensemen Derek Chaillier and Quintin McCarthy.

Calumet’s Eric Mattila received honorable mention.