All-CCC girls’ basketball team selected

DOLLAR BAY – Three seniors and three juniors make up the Copper Country Conference’s all-league girls’ basketball first team, released today.

The three seniors include Chelsea Truscott of Ontonagon, Brittni Kisul of Lake Linden-Hubbell and Jamie Dompier of Chassell.

At 15.6 points per game, Dompier, who was also named league MVP, was the league’s highest scorer.

Her coach, Brandi Hainault, was named Coach of the Year after her team improved by nine wins (five in conference play) in her first year on the bench.

The three juniors on the first team include Dollar Bay’s Julia Daavettila, Jenna Heikkinen of Baraga and Brooke Turin of Ontonagon.

Making the All-CCC Second Team included seniors Rebecca Larson and Brittany Nieskes of Baraga and Kelsey Heinonen of Jeffers, junior Kirsten Daavettila of Chassell and sophomore Sarah Audette of Lake Linden-Hubbell.

Ontonagon’s Bobbi Ross, LL-H’s Brooke Corrigan and Jeffers’ Shelby Seppanen received honorable mention.