Brice leads LSHC All-Stars

HOUGHTON – Ray Brice of the Houghton Gremlins was named Lake Superior Hockey Conference MVP in coaches’ balloting released Monday.

Brice, a junior, scored a school-record 38 goals for the Gremlins, who won all 10 of their conference games. He was joined by two other teammates on the all-league team.

In addition to Brice, senior defenseman Hunter Rajala was a first-team selection. Kyle Hauswirth of Hancock, a junior, joins him on the first-team blue line, while Jeffers junior Dax Durocher was named the league’s top goaltender.

The other first-team forwards alongside Brice were Jeffers senior Travis Wesa and Kingsford senior Ted Pietila.

Hancock and Houghton took up all three forward spots on the second team, occupied by Hancock senior Dylan Hanke, Houghton junior Connor Hannon and Hancock junior Brett Lepisto.

Anthony Harris, a Jeffers defenseman, was the only sophomore to make all-conference. He was joined by Kingsford senior Sean Ryan.

L’Anse was represented by senior goaltender Jason Rank.

Local players receiving honorable mention include Tristan Foltz of Houghton, Alex Hill of Hancock, Matt Mantta of Jeffers and Cody Goldsworthy of L’Anse.