All-State skiers announced

HOUGHTON – Five skiers from the Houghton-Hancock co-operative Alpine ski team were recognized recently by the Michigan High School Ski Coaches Association.

Leslie Hamar was named to the MHSCA Division II All-State First Team. Hamar placed fourth in both slalom and giant slalom at the state meet at Marquette Mountain Feb. 25, earning the honor in both disciplines.

On the boys’ side, Jacob Jarvis and Ian Helman were second-team all-state in the GS and slalom, respectively.

Jarvis was 11th in the state GS, while Helman took 10th in slalom.

Tony Stein, who finished 15th in the slalom was named to the third team.

H-H skier Connor Johnson received honorable mention.