McKay 3-on-3 returns to the ice

HOUGHTON – The first wave of champions was crowned Saturday at the Randy McKay 3-on-3 hockey tournament at MacInnes Student Ice Arena.

The young players also tested themselves in skills competitions.

In the Mite division, the Junior Red Wings, a Houghton County quartet of Cooper Burkman (South Range), Gaborik Carlson (Dodgeville), Tyson Markham (Chassell) and Camden Markham (Houghton) was victorious, while the top goalie was Teagan Hill of Houghton.

In the skills, Mika Jalkanen had the fastest shot. The Dodgeville native reached 29 miles per hour.

Camden Markham hit four of five targets to win accurate shot and Carlson was the fastest skater.

In Squirt House, the Ice Kings took it home. They include Dean Billeck and Alex Mattila of Mohawk, Brandon Lavigne of Hancock and Luke Marcotte of Lake Linden. The winning goalie was Trevor Lewis of Marquette.

Skills competition winners included Brandon Norkol (fastest shot – 37 mph), Jaron Hembroff (most accurate shot) and Mattila (fastest skater).

Steve Lloyd Construction was best in Pee Wee House. The winning team consisted of Logan Lloyd and Ross Treadeau of L’Anse, Peyton Anderson of Negaunee and Trey Bociek of Iron River. Craig Mantila of Pelkie was the winning goalie.

Keegan Julio of Baraga had the fastest shot (45 mph), Johnathon Mantila of Pelkie was most accurate and Ethan Willmert of Houghton was fastest skater.

The Bantam House final was an all-local affair won by the Dekes of Hazard: Carter Nettell of Hancock, Quentin Stachowiak of Houghton, Cory Tourtilott of Dollar Bay and Nick Weingarten of Houghton. Tristan Lorendo of Ontonagon was the winning goalie.

Jackson Vilona of Negaunee won all three skills competitions.

In Men’s Open, Moves Like Jagr took home the win. They include Brett Hauswirth, Jeffrey Laux and Trevor Mattson of Hancock and Matt Zerbst of Atlantic Mine. The winning goalie was Alex Latvala of Marquette.

Randy McKay 3-on-3 play continues on Friday in the Squirt Travel, Pee Wee Travel, Bantam Travel, High School/Midget and Women’s Open divisions.