A Frisbee ‘Thank You’

To the editor:

The Frisbee Committee would like to thank all involved for the very successful 56th Annual Coca-Cola International Frisbee Tournament.

Attendance for the event continues to grow, players and fans continue to rave about the venue, and, as one contestant said Sunday night, “This is THE tournament.” We have all our supporters to thank: Coca-Cola and Hancock Bottling, Calumet Township and Paul Lehto, Main Street Calumet and Tom Tikkanen, Mike Hale and the crew at Agassiz field (the best Frisbee field on the circuit), CLK Schools, Marco and Julie at Luigi’s for registration and the Friday night meal, Connie’s Kitchen for the Hall of Fame meal, Marshall Law for the music, ABC 5/10, WOLV and Todd Van Dyke, the Daily Mining Gazette, WMPL/Mix 93.5, and TV-6.

Also, thanks to our incredible sponsors: Bucko’s Party Store; Erickson, Crowley, Peterson Funeral Home; Universal Metal Works; Copper Crown Motel; Super 8; NorthStar BP, Laurium Marathon; The Pines Resort; Brickside Brewery; Aspirus Keweenaw; Calumet Elks Lodge No. 404; Shopko Hometown; McDonald’s; Early Spring Productions; Kissel Chevrolet; Holiday Station Stores Calumet; Trail Creek Motors & Outdoors; Superior Graphics; Harbor Haus Restaurant; Dr. Tom McConnon; David Heinonen CPA PC; Range Bank; Louie’s Fresh Markets; Leveque Agency Inc.; Michigan House; Darnell Construction; Red Carpet System; Harter’s Party Store & Sporting Goods; U.P. Pub; River Valley State Bank; AmericInn; Toni’s Country Kitchen; Blau Distributing; Surplus Outlet; McCabe Distributing; Shopko Houghton; Econofoods, Superior National Bank; RE/Max Douglas Real Estate; Walmart; Luigi’s Bar; Dave’s BP Service; Mike Shanahan; UP Laser Engraving; Louie’s Fresh Market; Pat’s Foods; Bucko’s Party Store; Calumet Golf Club; Harter’s Party Store; Habanero’s; Michigan House Caf & Brewpub; BaseNine Studio; Fitzgerald’s Restaurant; Country Inn & Suites; The Ambassador; Holiday Inn Express; Peterlin Distributing; 5th & Elm; Rozsa Center; Hardees; Monte Carlo; Keweenaw Mountain Lodge; Carmelita’s.

And, the Frisbee Committee: Pete and Johnna Rilei, Tom Tikkanen, Jeff Foss, Tony Hella, Jonathon Manderfield, Rudy Tikanen, Justin Dudenas, and Bill Parkin: It takes a team, and we have a great one.

We’re getting ready for the 57th Coca-Cola International Frisbee Tournament, July 5 and 6, 2014, in Calumet. We’ll see you there!

Dennis Walikainen