Wykons lead WestPAC football selections

HOUGHTON – West Iron County grabbed three of the four special awards from WestPAC all-star voting conducted by the league’s seven football coaches earlier this week and released today.

Wykon running back Alec Schmelebeck earned Offensive Player of the Year honors, while Andrew Peterson was Defensive Player of the Year and Mike Berutti the top coach, in addition to nine first-team selections.

L’Anse kicker Ryan LaBerge earned Special Teams Player of the Year to break up the WIC sweep.

He was also the league’s first-team kicker, one of five Hornet selections to the top unit which included running back Jimmy Veker, offensive linemen Keith Denomie and Brandon Scroggs and linebacker Jonny Magaraggia.

Four Hancock Bulldogs were selected to the first team, including offensive lineman Jordy LaTendresse, linebacker Brandon Barnes, defensive lineman Sean Patchin and defensive back Tanner Kearly.

Houghton got two players on the first team, running back Thomas Schmidt and linebacker Ben Collaer.

Calumet put four players in, all on the second team: offensive lineman Ben Eskola, defensive lineman Andrew Berg, linebacker Brad Erkkila and defensive back Braden Anderson.

Houghton second-teamers included offensive lineman Zach Verran, receiver Sam Bethancourt, defensive lineman Brad Ohtonen and defensive back Justin Ruotsala.

Hancock had two second-team picks: running back Riley Engman and offensive lineman Adrian Saterstad.

LaBerge was named the second-team quarterback alongside running back Brandon Kemppainen, linebacker Ryan Beauprey and lineman Joey Beauprey.

Local players receiving honorable mention include Alex Karcher of L’Anse, Kaden Kangas of Calumet, William Lucier of Hancock and Austin Mattson of Houghton.