Five Lakes picked for Great Western All-Stars

HOUGHTON – Four of the five Lake Linden-Hubbell Lakes to make the All-Great Western Conference football team announced today did so on the defensive end.

Those Lakes defenders included lineman Charles Heckel, defensive end Konrad Klein, linebacker Tylor Rickard and defensive back Tyler Roose.

The fifth selection was running back Cole Beauchamp.

Voting was conducted earlier this week by the league’s coaches.

Ontonagon had three selections, running back Tony Soumis, tight end Kyle Karttunen and linebacker David Pollard, all seniors.

Baraga running back Michael Turunen was picked, as was linebacker Dillion Hueckstadt.

The major awards were largely split by Forest Park and Hurley, the league’s top two teams, with the Midgets’ Mark Saari named Offensive Back of the Year and Jordan Kolpin and Chris Edyvean named linemen of the year on offense and defense, respectively.

FP’s Lee Graff was the top defensive back/linebacker, while teammate Austin Snell was the best receiver and return specialist. Coach Bill Santilli was named GWC Coach of the Year.

Local players receiving honorable mention include: Eddie Ling, Corbin Crittenden and Nate Stockton of Baraga, Lucas Klein, Nic Walli and Mitchel Kumpula of LL-H and Brady Guilbault, Noel Jenney and Drew Morris of Ontonagon.