Huskies hand out 2013 football awards

HOUGHTON – Tyler Scarlett earned the Al Bovard Most Valuable Player Award for the second straight year as the Michigan Tech football team handed out its 2013 season awards at a team dinner this week.

The junior quarterback threw for 2,552 yards and 16 touchdowns on the season. He also rushed for 144 yards and six scores. A three-year starter, Scarlett posted his third consecutive season over 2,400 yards passing to reset Tech’s career passing mark with 7,554 yards.

The Fred Baird Memorial Award for the team’s outstanding defensive player went to Taylor Ziolkowski. The senior linebacker recorded a team-leading 93 tackles with 51 solos and 42 assists. He also notched two interceptions and two fumble recoveries.

Wide receiver Jordan McConnell was given the outstanding offensive player award. The senior hauled in a team-high 62 receptions for six touchdowns and 851 yards in his only year in Houghton. A transfer from Central Michigan, McConnell ranked fourth in the GLIAC in receptions per game in 2013.

The Daniel Dopp Memorial Award for the team’s special teams player of the year was presented to Garrett Mead. The junior kicker tied a school record with 10 field goals in a season and broke the single-game mark with five in a 29-7 victory over Walsh. Mead led the team in scoring with 59 points.

Sophomore linebacker Ben Tauchen received the Omer LaJeunesse Award for scholastic achievement. Tauchen, who was credited with 10 tackles on the season, possesses a 3.84 cumulative grade point average in mechanical engineering.

A pair of seniors-offensive lineman Matt Waters and fullback Cole Welch-shared the Ted Kearly Award, given annually to the Husky who played and practiced with passion, pride and integrity. Welch also earned the Harold Meese Sportsmanship Award and the Iron Man Award.

The offensive and defensive linemen of the year were Frank Vruwink and David Russek, respectively. Vruwink, a sophomore, started all 10 games at left tackle. Russek, a senior defensive tackle, amassed 37 tackles including 4.5 for loss.

Safety Brett Gervais was named defensive back of the year after posting 72 tackles and two interceptions during his sophomore season.

The offensive back of the year was junior tailback Charlie Leffingwell, who rushed for 1,238 yards and seven touchdowns. His 123.8 yards-per-game average was fifth-best in the GLIAC.

Michigan Tech’s Freshman of the Year was Kevin Miller. The tailback gained 245 yards on 72 carries in 2013.

The scout team players of the year were a pair of redshirts-wide receiver Ian Fischer on offense and linebacker Derrick Diver on defense.

Michigan Tech compiled a 6-4 record in 2013, alternating two wins and two losses through its 10-game schedule.