Almquist named MVP of WestPAC

HOUGHTON – Alex Almquist of Hancock was named WestPAC boys’ basketball player of the year for the second time in coaches’ voting released recently.

Almquist averaged 19.8 points per game in his senior season.

The rest of the first team includes four seniors and a junior. Co-champions L’Anse and Houghton earned two spots apiece in the group.

L’Anse’s first-team representatives were forward Jimmy Veker and guard Ryan LaBerge.

Veker led L’Anse’s offense with 16.4 points per game, while LaBerge directed the Hornets from the point guard position and recorded 12.6 points per game himself.

In addition, coach Mike Ostermeyer was named coach of the year.

Houghton senior Trent Keteri averaged 16.1 points and was a major outside shooting threat, while junior Nate Gockenbach did more of his damage on drives to the basket and averaged 14.8 per game.

The final first-teamer is Calumet’s Paul Torola. The senior averaged 18.4 points and was held out of double figures just once in the 2013-14 regular season.

Coaches named an ‘All-Senior’ team, including L’Anse guard Jacob Ostermeyer, West Iron County forward Adam Newby, Houghton guard Eero Niemela, L’Anse guard Daniel Perrow and Calumet center Jake Pieti.

Sam Bethancourt and Ben Collaer of Houghton received honorable mention.