Special Saturday for CCJHA championships

HANCOCK – It was a day full of exciting finishes Saturday during the Copper Country Junior Hockey Association’s Jim Markham Memorial Hockey Saturday at Houghton County Arena.

Three of the four games, championships of the CCJHA’s house league seasons, were decided by a single goal on a day dedicated to the memory of Jim Markham, a pillar of the local hockey community.

The one that went to overtime was the Mite game, in which Hancock Fire edged the Copper Country Oldtimers 4-3.

The overtime hero was Brady Galetto, who scored 5:43 into the extra session.

His team came from behind three times, on goals by David Olson, Galetto and Paul Olson. Paul Olson’s goal tied it up at 10:27 of the third period. Not only was David Olson’s goal shorthanded, he drew an assist on the game-winner.

For the Oldtimers, Bryce Hanner, Jace Deforge and Mika Jalkanen found the back of the net.

In the Squirt championship, Dollar Bay Linoleum and Tile defeated Edward Jones 3-2. Both teams scored twice in the second period, but Tyler Sayen buried the winner 1:38 into the third and DBL&T held on for the victory.

Cooper Burkman and Brad Johnson had the other goals for the winners, while Calvin Heinonen notched a pair of assists, including on the game-winner.

For Edward Jones, Caden Hillstrom and Todd Anderson scored.

M&M Powersports got the 5-4 win over Auto Pro Glass and Tire in a Pee Wee nailbiter.

After falling behind early, M&M Powersports took a 3-2 lead into the third period, then responded to two Auto Pro equalizers.

Isaac Ylitalo-Chaney recorded the game-winning goal at 11:44 of the third period, his second of the game. Ryan Ruoho, Nolan Asiala and Petr Anderson had the other goals for M&M, with Anderson assisting on the go-ahead goal.

For Auto Pro, Hunter Saarinen, Carter Burkman, Tanner Boyce and Jackson Rocchi scored the goals.

In the Bantam title game, American Forest Management blanked the Keweenaw Research Center 4-0.

Goalscorers for the winners were Jaeden Sleeman, Evan Larson, Drew Harris and Trey Heinonen.