Nine local players named All-U.P.

MARQUETTE – A strong season for girls’ basketball in the Copper Country received recognition to match, as nine local players received All-U.P. honors announced today.

In addition to Dream Teamers Elisa Jurmu of Houghton and Madi Swanson of L’Anse (see related story), two more locals were named to their respective class’s first teams and five to second teams.

Calumet’s Lexie Rowe was elected to one of five spots on the Class ABC First Team for the second consecutive season.

The junior averaged 15.3 points and 4.1 rebounds, both improvements from 2012-13.

Ontonagon point guard Brooke Turin jumped into the Class D first team on her first try. She posted averages of 18.8 points, nine rebounds, 3.5 steals and 3.5 assists.

All three members of L’Anse’s dynamic senior trio received All-U.P. honors as Kelsey Ross and Valerie Rajala, both seniors, were named to the ABC Second Team.

Rajala came just a point a game away from averaging a double-double, and her 10-plus boards a contest often proved vital for an undersized L’Anse team.

Ross proved a lethal scoring threat in her senior season, averaging 14.5 points with five games of 20 or more.

Houghton also had a second-team pick: senior Kelsie Richards. The 5-8 wing featured a rock-solid all-around game, averaging 12.9 points, 6.1 boards and 2.8 steals.

In the Class D ranks, Dollar Bay’s Julia Daavettila made the second team for the second year in a row. She averaged 17 points, 7.2 boards and finished with a career total of 1,041 points in leading the Bays to their first Copper Country Conference and district titles in a generation during her senior year.

Jeffers point guard Shelby Seppanen also made the cut, playing a major role as the Jets returned to contention in the Copper Country Conference. Seppanen, a senior, averaged 13 points and 5.8 rebounds in addition to three assists and three steals.

Three local players received special mention by getting at least two votes from the 25 UPSSA members who selected the team Wednesday at Northern Michigan University: Houghton junior Sydney Dillinger, Jeffers junior Haley Makela and Ewen-Trout Creek senior Taylor Niemi.

Local players receiving honorable mention included Calumet’s Clara Loukus and Baraga’s Melissa Putala.