Houghton, Keweenaw primaries Tuesday

HOUGHTON – Voters in Houghton and Keweenaw counties will have millages, and potentially a contested seat, on their primary ballots Tuesday.

Houghton County

In District 1, incumbent County Commissioner Tom Tikkanen will face challenger Eugene Londo in the Republican primary. In the Democratic primary, challenger Rick Kasprzak is running unopposed.

While Democratic District 3 Commissioner Anton Pintar and Republican challenger Mark Kemppainen face no opponents in their respective primaries, they will run against each other in November.

Commissioners Tim Palosaari, Albert Koskela and Scott Ala are running unopposed.

Jennifer Kelly Lorenz is running unopposed for county clerk as a Democrat.

Houghton County also has a road millage renewal on the ballot. The 1.36 mills would be levied from 2014 though 2013, getting an estimated $1,149,954 in revenue for 2014. The money will be used for general operating and maintenance for the Houghton County Road Commission and the county’s cities and villages in maintaining roads, streets and highways.

Keweenaw County

Keweenaw County is considering a new millage that would levy 2 mills for road maintenance and repair in the county from 2015 to 2019. It would raise an estimated $266,000 in the first year. Of that, $200,000 would go to local roads, $63,000 would go to primary roads and $3,000 would go to the Village of Ahmeek.

Another millage on the ballot covers the county, townships and the Copper Country Intermediate School District. The rates are: 6.25 mills for Keweenaw County, 2.35 for Grant Township, 1.35 for Sherman Township, and 1.30 for Allouez, Eagle Harbor and Houghton townships. It covers 2015 through 2018, or until altered by county voters.

In the county Road Commission race, incumbent Gordon Jaaskelainen and challenger Richard Schaefer are running against each other in the Republican primary for one seat.

County Commissioners Ray Chase, Del Rajala, Frank Stubenrauch, Randy Eckloff, and Don Piche are running unopposed.

In Allouez Township, Republican Julie Newman and Democrat Laurel Ann Hamlin are running unopposed for their respective parties’ nomination for treasurer. Republican Chris Cronenworth is running unopposed for trustee.

Eagle Harbor Township will have an emergency services millage proposal. The 1-mill proposal will renew the millage which would otherwise be rolled back to .9978 mills under the Headlee Amendment. The millage, which would raise money for fire protection, medical first responders and other emergency services, would run from 2014 through 2017. In its first year, it would raise an estimated $41,264.

Houghton Township is looking for a renewal of 3 mills for continuing operational expenses from 2014 through 2018. In its first year, it is expected to raise $24,000.